“O-Ee-Yah! Eoh-Ah!” The Changing of the Guard at WREG

Apologies to Wizard of Oz fans but according to the movie script, “O-Ee-Yah! Eoh-Ah!”   is what the Winkie guards were chanting as they pranced outside the Wicked Witch’s castle.  (My wife thinks they’re saying O-ee-O.) But I digress.   It’s not often that I go out on a limb with a single source for information about a story.  I like to have something independently confirmed but I trust this source of information and besides I can’t contact those I know (which will be explained in just a moment.)   Having said that, my source tells me the changing of the guard is taking place at WREG as the new owners take over from the NYTimes.  I’m told the new folks take over Monday morning and the second floor offices occupied by NYTimes Corporate folks have been vacated.  That basically would leave sales and the management types wandering around, perhaps even prompting some to consider moving to the prime offices with a view overlooking the river.  Perhaps it’s because the corporate folks decided to make like Elvis (and leave the building) but I’m told one has a hard time getting through by corporate email because the NYTimes email system isn’t working.  And I’m also told that the gas cards used by photogs aren’t working either.  That one seemed to be a bit far fetched but hey, I’m sharing here.  (Trust me, TV news stories have been turned on much less credible information than I’ve been given.)   I’m sure all of this (the last two items) was preplanned and a back-up plan was put in place to cover the situation.  After all, one only gets one chance to make a first impression and I’m sure the new owners want to put their best foot forward.  I would imagine the new owners WON’T do what the NYTimes did and make Memphis their broadcast group headquarters although they could do much worse.  And if, come Monday morning, the situation goes south, then just click your heels together three times and repeat ” There’s no place like home”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on ““O-Ee-Yah! Eoh-Ah!” The Changing of the Guard at WREG”

  1. The GM Says:

    I’m not sure what people would expect other than change. Your station/group was just sold to a private equity firm — an investment company that promises high returns for individuals who provide great amounts of money for the firm to invesst. So, how do they get those returns? They invest in under-performing companies/industries and operate them more efficiently. First they cut costs. They put a more aggressive sales plan in place. They have to move the profit margin up over the next few years. Five or six years down the road, they sell to provide the return their investors were promised.

    For those DOTR, the NYT Company had a reputation of giving their stations whatever they wanted or “needed” to succeed. How else do you explain five meteorologist or a run of GMs that came up through news and programming? Welcome to broadcast industry of the 21st Century. It’s not that it is bad, it is different than what you were used to.

    There is not a station in the country that is not either experiencing or will be experiencing what you are about to experience. In short, expect a streamlining of management; consolidation of tasks to eliminate redundant positions; news production automation and a sales force that focuses on obtaining a higher share of the availble dollars in the market while not sacraficing rate integrity. For those that adapt, everything will be fine. Keep in mind, the news departments goal remains the same — to deliver the brand of news and information that MidSouth viewers seek-out on a daily basis.
    Happy Friday!
    The GM

  2. Emily Says:

    Okay..I found this while Googling, but I’ll tell you a cool story. Many years ago, I was a Brownie in Greenwich, CT – Margaret Hamilton was shooting a commercial for Maxwell House coffe and we got to go to the shoot. The house was a yellow old house on North Street and belonged to my friend Krisine Reinhart (how’s that for specifics) – we had a question and answer with her on the back porch. I specifically asked her what the chant was..and she said..plain as day “Oh, we love…the old one..”

    There.. :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

