The CALM Effort, E-D Remedies, Motorized LA-Z Boy charges & Corn Nuts

I generally don’t watch commercials on TV much anymore.  (To the horror of The GM) yes, I zip through most of them thanks to TIVO.  Hey, I understand that paid advertisements are the lifeblood of television but I don’t know of anyone who really LIKES watching commercials and I really don’t.

For years when I worked at WREG, I fielded calls from people who wanted to know why we turned up the volume on commercials.  I would dutifully check with the folks in the Master Control area who always responded that the volumes of the commercials were always within the proper limits.  I never really gave it much thought until I noticed that the commercials really did blare.  I know I’ve posted on this before and I usually hear from folks about compression levels and such but the bottom line: Commercials generally do sound louder than the programming, at least on my TVs at home.  Turns out, someone in Washington is taking some steps to remedy what some say is just in our imaginations.  Enter the Commercial Advertisement Loudness Mitigation (CALM) Act.It seems that a congress person from California wants the FCC to stop the loudness.   We’ll see where this goes if it goes anywhere at all.

As I have posted before, TIVO has changed the way I watch any TV program.  I now watch an hour long program in about 45 minutes.  I love it.  Granted, I may not be able to do that forever as advertisers figure out new ways to get me to view their product pitches but that’s the way it is for now.  Having said that, I was actually forced to watch a series of commercials during a show that I was watching live.  Among the products pitched was some drug used to treat Erectile Dysfunction.  What caught my eye was the fact that the advertiser was touting something to help the male partner take care of his partner’s needs.  It showed two people sitting in two separate claw-footed bath tubs out in some field over-looking some beautiful vista.  Look, I’m not a doctor but first, sitting in a tub of water by myself out in some field watching the sunset is not the way to get some action IMHO.  Now, sitting in a tub (preferably whirlpool type tub) with someone else in an enclosed room (except for the exhibitionist types) with some soft music, candlelight and a chilled bottle of bubbly perhaps seems like a much better way to go.  Heck one might even be able to forego the E-D drugs.  I’m just saying, that’s all.

It’s tough beating American ingenuity.  That’s why the blurb I ran across about the man from cited for DUI in a motorized easy chair caught my eye. Apparently this machine will move at speeds around 15 to 20 mph.  It could very well be the most comfortable ride you experience on the road.

Speaking of being on the road, my wife and I recently traveled to New England where she spoke at a conference for bankers.  While there, we also hit the road in our quest to visit all 50 states and all of the provinces of Canada. I’m a firm believer that road trips are defined in part by the snacks you take with you.  On road trips, I love Corn Nuts, that crunchy snack made from toasted corn.  Apparently folks in the New England area have no idea of what Corn Nuts are.  IMHO, they don’t know what they are missing.  But that also meant the drive was less enjoyable for “moi” and on a road trip (since I usually drive) it’s all about the driver.  Maybe a campaign to introduce this tasty snack is in order for that area.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “The CALM Effort, E-D Remedies, Motorized LA-Z Boy charges & Corn Nuts”

  1. The GM Says:

    Shocked! Shocked Joe. You don’t watch commercials? Next thing you’ll tell me you get news stories for free on the internet.

    Regarding loud commercials. I answered an email this week on the very subject. I checked with my chief engineer before responding. While we do our best to modulate the volume levels, the commercials are being submitted from the client/agency at abnormally high levels. There is only so much the station can do. I am not in favor of government interference and believe advertisers should self-police; that’s not happening. We need industry standards

    Re: Corn Nuts. Ugh . . . like chewing pebbles. They’re loud and tasteless.

    As always, all the best,
    The GM

  2. ready camera one, take two Says:

    Love corn nuts! So does my dentist.
    When I die throw a bag in my box.

  3. Doug Johnson Says:

    You said “corn nuts.”

  4. autoegocrat Says:

    You might be interested to know that I now get my 60 Minutes experience, which has been a regular feature of my life since I was about ten, via podcast with no advertisements whatsoever. The format of the show makes the visuals completely unnecessary. I spend a lot of time in my car, so it works out flawlessly.

    I really do wonder how people are going to make money off of this. As it is, the only media organizations who have made a thin dime from me in the last tne years or so are the ones who asked for it directly; in other words, public radio, blogs, and indy media. I don’t watch television, I get all my video through an ad-blocked browser, and I get my radio through ad-free podcasts. Commercials just aren’t a part of my life anymore, and I really like it that way. The very fact that advertisers are jacking up the volume on television speks to the reason I’m perfectly happy to just shut them out altogether.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

