Greetings and Salutations!

Welcome to what I hope is the new home of my blog.  After repeatedly begging for help and only occasionally getting it from the folks who ran the blogsite where my previous blog was located, I finally gave up.  I figured I was about to cross the thresh hold of the definition of insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different outcome.

So here I am.  I don’t know if anyone will join me here and if they don’t, that’s okay too.  Hey, that’s life.

Regards,

Joe Larkins

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “Greetings and Salutations!”

  1. unknown Says:

    am i the first to comment on your new blog site?

  2. joelarkins Says:

    Yes you are. Be gentle.

  3. Doug J. Says:

    Hey Joe, I’m not sure whether I want to move with you… Wait, I guess the fact that I’m leaving a comment sort of negates that. Darn it. Okay Joe, I’m happy to be making this transition with you & your loyal following… and the rest of the people who read your stuff. Just kidding… don’t go all Edmund Ford on me!

  4. Mike Ross Says:

    Hey Joe,

    Keep it going, dude! I love your stuff! You’re my second or third website visit with my morning coffee every day!

    Mike Ross
    ( Former reporter at WWL-TV, New Orleans…now 10p co-anchor at KTUU-TV Anchorage, Alaska…how about that for a change of address!!…no more hurricanes for me!)

  5. joelarkins Says:

    Wow Mike, What a change in scenery. I wished I had had the where-withall to try that. Good luck in Alaska. Keep me posted on how things go up there.
    Regards,
    Joe


  6. Hope the new digs work out better for you! I always enjoy your posts, even though I’m not much of a commenter. 😉


  7. Jo, Man I have wondered what happen to you. You were on TV one day then gone. I throughly enjoyed your morning broadcasts. I really would laugh outloud when you would mess with Mary Beth. I think you made her turn red a couple of times. It was my favorite thing to watch for. I was one of the people that when told by Mayor Harrington, ” If you dont like it, you can leave” We left. Went to Walls, MS and absolutly love it here. Also I have a camp on Sardis lake. Are you still active with hunting , fishing and woodcrafts? Please up-date us on what you are doing…Are you working? Great luck with your blog. I will be looking forward to your up-dates. Thanks

  8. Byron Day Says:

    Joe-
    Good move-but we all know you just wanted more room for a bigger picture of yourself!!
    🙂
    However, you have aged well my friend!

  9. Steve Shaw Says:

    Looking forward to the new and improved Blog Joe!

  10. joelarkins Says:

    I appreciate the kind comments. By the way Byron, my wife told me she missed the picture from the old blog even though I shaved my beard back in September. Perhaps the beard allows her to see less of me. I don’t know.

  11. Carol McClain Says:

    Hey Joe,!
    Glad you didnt just up and leave us , I love reading your blog , it’s fun and enlightening, by the way, is there anything that will make the printing a bit larger, I just joined the 50’s crowd this last September , so the eyesight is the first thing to go lol
    blessings !

  12. joelarkins Says:

    Let me see what I can do about the type size. I’m still getting used to things about here.
    Regards,
    Joe

  13. Mike Ross Says:

    Hi Joe,

    I’m was truly honored and touched by your blog post that mentioned my move to Alaska. I know how you feel…I did a lot of soul searching before making such a huge move.

    To tell you the truth, my wife ( who is from Memphis, BTW…the former Miss Barbie Doll, one of the ‘fabulous chyron babes’ of WREG ) thought I was f—ing crazy when I told her I thought we should move to Anchorage! But…she loves it here..our two kids, 12 year old Jonathan and 5-year Amanda, have fallen in love with the place. They were both born in Louisiana…had never seen snow or mountains…but they both know how to ski now, and love seeing moose wandering through town! Our son said the other day he never wants to live anywhere else….

    As for your feelings about not making such a bold move yourself years ago…keep in mind, there was one event in our lives that you didn’t have to face…thankfully…and that was Hurricane Katrina. While our home was spared with minor damage, the experience of living through a nightmare like Katrina nudged me toward a decision I probably would not have made otherwise. It was the ultimate example of turning something totally negative into some wonderful.

    From a professional point of view, the decision to go from WWL-TV (where I spent 20 wonderful years, and thought would be my retirement destination) to KTUU -TV was easy…my new TV home has very much the same tradition as where I was. My new boss, John Tracy, is one of the most talented people I’ve ever met in this business…he doesn’t believe in consultants…or flash-and-trash….or tabloid crap. His attitude is “all of my anchors are REPORTERS FIRST”….his attitude is so refreshing in a business that’s turned so show-biz.

    As for Anchorage, it’s a wonderful city…the scenery is spectacular…and it’s a great place to raise kids. Like any other city, it has its problems…but we love it here.

    The most important factor in our decision to come up here was our children…we didn’t want to put them through any more hurricanes….and one trip up here last summer to check-out the place convinced us it would be a great experience for them…and something they would have never experienced if we had stayed in Louisiana.

    Joe, my friend, don’t have any regrets about the choices you’ve made….if you are happy with your family, then that’s the most important thing in life…and if you can look yourself in the mirror and have self pride in what you’ve done with your life, then you have nothing to second-guess.

    Plus…now that you know we’re here, you have a cheap place to stay for your Alaska vacation! It’s a place that everyone should see at least once in their lifetime.

    HOWEVER…if you REALLY get the bug to come up here full-time, our week-end anchor spot just opened up!…and my new boss loves to take us salmon fishing!!

    (now I REALLY will be on your wife’s s–t list!!! haha!)

    Here’s a link to our family photo webpage…feel free to thumb through it to share our Arctic adventure!!

    http://picasaweb.google.com/mikeross1508

    Thanks again for mentioning me in your blog..I really do check your website daily!

    Mike Ross
    Proud Alaskan


  14. Hey Jo, You said one time during your broadcast that if you named a boat it would be ” On Assingment” We named our Pontoon on Sardis that very name. Thank you for the tip. It looks great writtn on the back…


Leave a Reply

