Odds & Ends on a Friday

I was trying to find something on a lighter note to end this work-week with.  I found something, courtesy of my good friend and former co-worker Jack.  I will share with you in just a moment.

First, if you see a couple of TV traffic guys on the side of the road with a thumb out, give em a lift.  I heard through the grapevine that former co-worker Joey Hadley pulled the plug on himself as the morning traffic guy on ABC 24.  Joey worked the traffic detail for years on various radio stations and at WREG.  Back then he was widely known as “Deputy Joe with the traffic info.”  He was replaced by Deputy Ron at WREG who as I understand has hit the road as well.  No official word on what prompted that departure or who will step up to the plate to take over the morning duties.  No doubt about it, traffic is important.  That’s why those who have choppers will put them up during some ratings months to help raise visibility for their traffic coverage.

And as promised, something on a lighter note to wrap up this work week.  My friend Jack sent me this item about the state of television news as viewed by the folks at Jib Jab.  Click on the upper part of the screen to view “What We Call the News”.  Click on the lower section of the video screen to view “The Year in Review”.  That’s not what they call it but I’d didn’t want to post the real title here.  The title is worth a visit itself.     I love the work these folks do.  At their web site they will let you see how they made particular videos but you do have to sign up.  It might just be worth it.   I’m pretty sure you will laugh or at least chuckle.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “Odds & Ends on a Friday”

  1. Joe Says:

    For an example of Deputy Joe in his heyday on NewsChannel 3 Daybreak, check this out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=njgZ1xt7AIY P.S. Joe Larkins is on it too.

  2. Smithee Says:

    Heard from a friend in Huntsville that Clint More went back to 5 in Memphis, when did that happen? Do you know?

  3. joelarkins Says:

    I do not know about the return of Clint to WMC. Can anyone out there help me out with this one?

  4. Bishop333 Says:

    Joe,

    Why did Deputy Ron Taylor get the boot?

  5. joelarkins Says:

    I haven’t heard. I was hoping someone in the know would share but so far no one has been forthcoming. Any word out there. Also, who is the replacement?

  6. Les Nessman Says:

    Clint accepted the operations manager job. His last day was Monday, the day he informed WREG that he accepted the job at 5.

    WREG is looking at tapes to choose their new traffic person. Among those that have shown is that chopper traffic girl they have -“Ace” Ventura.

  7. Richard Says:

    I will miss Deputy Ron on WREG. As for the helicopter coverage, unless it’s a major accident that messes up traffic, they should leave them on the ground.

  8. Shaun Says:

    I just ran into Deputy Ron at the liquor store, and didn’t recognize him until we’d already gone our separate ways. I miss his traffic, too – wish I’d have thought to tell him to “buckle up and slow it down.”


Leave a Reply

