Let’s Move on From the N-H-Hs I-Mess Already

First, let me assure you that this blog is my own and was not written by a producer for Katie Couric and therefore it was not lifted from another source. I know everyone feels better with that particular disclosure.

Now, to the matter at hand. I know the Don Imus firing is a big story. I think it will bring about discussions on racism and sexism after his reference to the Rutgers Basketball team as NHHs. I’m glad to see the moral outrage at name calling and hope that some of the things we hear on TV and radio both in commentary and in music will be reconsidered or toned down. I grew up hearing the “N” word and didn’t like it then and I like it less now and I don’t care who you are or what race you are, the term shouldn’t be used. Period There is no excuse for using it whether it’s to familiars or anyone else. Having said that I have to say I was not surprised to see the I-Mess story leading the hour long cable newscast I watched. What really honked me off was the fact that after two, count them TWO segments of wearing this subject out, they finally got around to the fact that a bomber had penetrated the so-called Green Zone in Baghdad (which is supposed to be somewhat secure) and detonated a bomb in the Iraqi parliment. Then after that story when they teased the next segment, it featured Alberto Gonzales AND American Idol as upcoming stories. Maybe I’m missing something here but folks, they fired Don Imus for a second time and canceled his show. Does it take 20-minutes to get to the meat of that? Am I the only who thinks the situation in Iraq and the situation in our U-S Justice department might be somewhat more important. Perhaps I am.

The news anchor droning on about Imus made a reference to a movie made in the late 50s called “A Face in the Crowd” starring Andy Griffith. I’ve blogged on this before. It is about a rube who is found by a reporter in a jail cell in NE Arkansas and puts him on the radio. The guy’s popularity soars and he moves on to Memphis TV and eventually national television where he courts politicians and other movers and shakers. (Spoiler alert ) He eventually makes the mistake of saying something derogatory about his audience when he thought his microphone was off. The movie plays periodically on AMC and if you haven’t seen it, it is almost frightening in how it shows the power of the electronic media and how such power can corrupt. It’s one of my favorite movies and was filmed in the Midsouth. It’s worth your time to watch. It may also cause you to think differently of Andy Griffith.

Finally, I had an email from a person asking where my follow-up comments were about the blogging from the big trials here in the Midsouth. I actually blogged on that just prior to my post on the Hazards of Duke for those of you who might have missed it. It’s called ” I promise to tell the truth, so help me Blog (part deux).

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Let’s Move on From the N-H-Hs I-Mess Already”

  1. Richard Says:

    I agree with you Mr. Larkins! There is a lot more going on in this world than Imus getting fired.
    I for one would like to turn the news on and hear nothing but good things for a change.
    But it seems that most of main stream America feeds off bad news of some kind.

    Maybe it’s because the bad news makes our lives look better than what we believe them to be?

  2. AMNewsBoy Says:

    I was watching TV that morning…

    CNN did a quick mention of Iraq… MSNBC didn’t mention it all (and was drowning in Imus)… FNC was talking about other things as well… but BBC World (on BBCA) was all over it.

    Even more telling — none of the local stations in KC even mentioned it. (I did see a breaking news report about a wreck, though.)

  3. smithee Says:

    Joe – can you find out a little bit about what’s happening at 3, i’m hearing all the people that workk here are going to have to reapply for their jobs.


Leave a Reply

