WPTY/WLMT Gets a New Daddy and the Big Trial is History and If You Haven’t Read It, It’s Still News

It appears ownership of yet another broadcast television group will change hands this year.  I saw in NewsBlues that Clear Channel has been sold and NOT to the group buying the NYTimes stations.  I also got an email from a former  co-worker alerting me to the information with a link.  Thanks Jose.  So folks on Union Extended won’t be enjoying the view from DOTR afterall and speculation that Brian Tiegland could be returning for a broadcast stint from the bluff for a third time has been quashed.  (Brian had left WREG once for another market before sliding back in the saddle DOTR for a second stint in the late 80s and early 90s before saying farewell for good to the NYTimes company.)   I don’t know much about the new owners of the ClearChannel group other than the fact they will take over in the 4th quarter.

The Winkler trial is now history and don’t you know the folks in Selmer, TN are happy about that.  Locally,  this trial opened up some new avenues for broadcasters that I predict will be used on a regular basis from here on out on big trials.  The blogging from the courtroom (which I will admit I’ve not checked on as often as I thought because I’ve been out of the office after the first few days of the trial) and the streaming video.  I’d be curious as to the reaction you have about the bloggers.  Did it work for you and was it worth it? Would you rather see just streaming video so you could make your own observations?  As usual, the streaming video is a technology that is a doubled edged sword.  It’s great for those who want to view it but for those who don’t, it’s a pain when it’s broadcast.  One woman told me earlier this week that she was in a high-state of pissivity (my translation of her mood) because WREG had interrupted her story (soap-opera) when Winkler was on the stand and they put the video on the air.  I learned a long time ago that if you want to hear little old ladies swear like sailors just interrupt their favorite soap.  You wonder if they eat with that same mouth after some of the venom they can spew.  So now everyone can concentrate on the John Ford trial.  It was interesting to hear some of the folks from the outlying communities talk about the Ford trial.  Some folks I ran into in a coffee shop early one morning earlier this week  are speculating that he will get off with a slap on the wrist.    These same people also wanted to know if I could get them a job as a politician in Memphis.  They seem to think the benefits are great.

And just when you think it couldn’t get much stranger here in the Memphis area, someone manages to up the ante.  Earlier this week, perhaps Tuesday afternoon, I really can’t remember but I saw a news chopper in the air over Midtown and Overton Park (the street) was blocked off between Dickinson and Evergreen.  News crews had set up shop and were interviewing anybody they can interview about the situation.  It seems somebody was cutting the grass in their backyard and found a hand-grenade.  That’s right, a hand-grenade.  I missed the local TV broadcasts to see what was going on and figured I would just wait and see what the Commercial Appeal reported on it the next morning.  What did I find? Nothing. Nada. Zip.  Okay.  It must have been nothing.  Finally this Friday morning, a small blurb was buried in the local section of the CA.    This is the newspaper that considers itself the paper of record here in the MidSouth.  Oh, I forgot.  They used to have a campaign that announced “If you haven’t read it, it’s still news.”  Maybe they should switch to “If it happens in the MidSouth, It’s News to Us.”  A cheap shot.  Yah.  But it’s Friday so what the heck.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “WPTY/WLMT Gets a New Daddy and the Big Trial is History and If You Haven’t Read It, It’s Still News”

  1. Steven Says:

    The streaming video I enjoy. It is there if you want to see it, and you don’t have to watch it if you don’t.

    Same with the blogs. Although I see them as more of a promotional tool. I tried to read through them, but I just got bored. Especially the Ford ones. That just seems to be one of those things (like soccer) that you have to be there to really enjoy.

    But that is just my two cents.

  2. chris tenstall Says:

    I for one enjoyd the chaos of the verdict. First there was the announcement that there was a verdict, then there was the dance until the verdict and so on. Everyone was doing their best. 5 had the announcement that there was a verdict fist and i believe everyone carried the actual announcement live. As a news junkie, I enjoyed Janice and George at 5 followed by the girl on 24. crazy but fun tv.


  3. That hand grenade thing doesn’t surprise me. About eight years ago a couple of rednecks were seen tossing a pipe bomb into a dumpster around the corner from me in Midtown (behind the old River City Donuts). It exploded hard enough to throw the dumpster lid across the street and flames shot about 40-50 feet into the air until the cops and fire dept. arrived on scene. Took ’em a while to put it out.

    This was around the time that someone was exploding pipe bombs around Shelby Farms, but not a word on the news or in the paper. Amazing.


Leave a Reply

