Fool Me Once, Shame on You, Fool Me Twice, Shame on Me

If one wants to find interesting politics, live in Memphis.  My mother-in-law has told me that for years.  Few cities except for maybe New Orleans has anything to rival what Memphis has to offer in the way of politicians.  Stuff that has come out of some of the recent wire-tapping and testimony from the federal Tennessee Waltz Sting gives a great insight to the mindset of some of these politicians.  I think it’s safe to say most are sorry they got caught and little else.  Is that a generalization on my part?  Yes it is.  But it comes from my observations after reading about and following the TW sting.  I guess I’m just disapppointed in Rickey Peete.  He was first nabbed for accepting money under the table at what was then a Shoney’s on Union. It’s now the Cupboard.  I used to be able to point out which table it was but can’t anymore.  Here was a person who got caught, served federal time and was then re-elected to office.  Hey, other than making me chuckle about the types of folks being elected to office, I didn’t think it was that big of a deal.  He wasn’t from my district and I’m a firm believer that folks get what they pay/vote for.  But what disappoints me is that RP had a chance to show folks that he was for real, that he learned his lesson and was ready to set an example for the rest of the community.  I guess the lesson he learned was that one must be more careful about these things.  I guess he just didn’t learn the particulars about being careful.  So, the disgraced Mr. Peete has pulled what some are calling a re-Peete and once again has given up his elected office.  We won’t have him to kick around anymore as an elected official since he can’t run for office again.

Some will accuse me of being racist or of kicking a man when he’s down.  No, I’m just waiting for the people of Memphis who complain about public officials to start doing something about it.  Since coming to Memphis in 1989, I’ve failed to vote just one time and that’s because I was out of town on that particular election day and didn’t do absentee voting.  (There was no early voting at the time).   I’ve earned the right to complain about elected officials.  If you don’t vote, you don’t have that right.  As for Memphis, corrupt and incompetent elected officials used to be something I laughed and joked about.  It’s like telling the same old joke, over and over.  It’s harder to laugh anymore.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Fool Me Once, Shame on You, Fool Me Twice, Shame on Me”

  1. Richard Says:

    No Joe…you can’t laugh. Although I don’t live in Memphis anymore, I can’t laugh either at what is going on in the world of politics in the city I was born and raised in.
    Racist? I think not because I feel the way you do. In fact, anytime anyone in the media up there says anything about the Fords, they pull the race card from under the joker in the political deck of cards.
    It has got to the point that I dread watching any news out of Memphis. If it’s not about some corrupt political figure then it’s about the crime up there.

    Will Memphians do anything about the corrupt politicians? I hope so but that remains to be seen.

  2. Les Nessman Says:

    Another astonishing thing is that a local reporter/anchor’s name came out during the Ford trial of who attended, I believe, an E-Cycle function/party in Miami.

    Did he pay for his own trip down there or did ECycle? There was a policy in the NY Times manual to steer clear of politics (no campaigning, appearing at political functions, etc.). Did he break NYT policy at the time?

  3. the tall tv guy Says:

    At the time, I was surprised when Rickey Peete was re-elected after going to the big house. But then, this is the same city that has voted again and again for John Ford and the city mayor. And Memphis has suffered for those decisions, especially in the last five years. I didn’t vote for any of these guys, and hope the citizens will have a better slate of candidates in the future.


Leave a Reply

