Memphis Makes National News, “I Just Want to be on TV” & An Example of a Great TV Story

There’s nothing like a story making the national news about your hometown to make your either beam with pride or cringe in embarrassment.  So here I am on this Thursday morning working away on my computer when I hear on the radio about the federal indictments in connection with the MLG&W debacle with Joseph Lee and Edmund Ford.  Since I had been listening to NPR on WKNO I thought at first that perhaps it was just a local report.  It was not.  This was from the national broadcast.  Wow.  I’m not sure  why this was national news but apparently someone considered it to be.  They did mention that Edmund is the brother of former state senator John Ford who was indicted.  Much to my relief they did NOT mention that Edmund is the uncle of former congressman Harold Ford Jr.  I was surprised that didn’t get mentioned.  On some newscasts, that connection to HFJ would have been the lead.

Occasionally I run into someone who has apparently lost his or her mind and they ask me to speak to their particular group usually about something related to the TV business.  I politely tell them that I’m no longer “on-air” and try to make them aware that perhaps they had me confused with either that “other Joe” or someone else.  Sometimes they apologize and move on and sometimes they insist they want me.  That’s usually when I start looking around to see if I’m being set up for something.  Anyway, about a month or so ago, my wife and I were wrapping up voting at the polling place just around the corner and a woman approached me to ask if I could speak to some kids she works with at a community center in North Memphis.  She said the children would be appreciative.  I agreed.  So this past week I stopped by to talk to these kids who range in age from 6 to 12 about the TV news business.  About half of the group of 30 children indicated they wanted to be on TV.  Some said they wanted to be reporters, some wanted to cover sports, one wanted to be a weather person.  But there were some who just wanted to be on TV.  I asked them what they wanted to do on TV and the response was simply.  “I don’t know, I just want to be on TV”.  Now flash back about eight months ago to a conversation I had with my niece who lives and works in the Memphis area.  She is in her early 20s and quite cute, great personality and enjoys where she works.  She and I were talking about stuff in general and then she said something that I thought interesting and perhaps reflects an attitude of younger people.  She said she wanted to be famous.  I asked her what she wanted to be famous for and she said she really didn’t know but she just wanted to be famous.  She didn’t say she wanted to be rich, or glamorous or a world leader.  She simply wanted to be famous.  I told her to be careful what she asked for as she might just get it.  But it leads me to the point of this diatribe.  Have we truly become a society where being famous for being famous is the big goal?  Oh we’ve had people who were famous for being famous long before Paris and her ilk.  Remember the Gabor sisters and who can forget Charo.  Now there you have some talent.  Maybe everything is just going full circle but these days with everyone able to achieve their 15-minutes of fame so easily thanks to the internet and 24-hour news, I think we need to set our goals a bit higher.  I’m just saying that’s all.

And finally, I’m not much on stuff that is forwarded to me.  I get so much spam that even my spam-blocker can’t control it so my email box gets filled quickly.  Still, I got something forwarded the other day from a former co-worker.  It was a link to a story and I decided to watch it.  I’m glad that I did because it is an example of a well told, well thought out story with great sound, great video, great nats, and great emotion.  I’m not sure who the person is who wrote it or even where it aired.  And it’s not a story that you will see on a local TV broadcast because no one would allow a story to run that long.  This is a story like you would see on CBS Sunday Morning.  If you’ve got about five minutes, click on the following link and let it load up.  I will caution you to have a tissue handy.  If you are not moved by the story then you are made of sterner stuff than I am. The link is listed below.  Enjoy.

http://mfile.akamai.com/21772/wmv/gannett.download.akamai.com/21772/stre
aming/wmv/hancockportraits.asx
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Memphis Makes National News, “I Just Want to be on TV” & An Example of a Great TV Story”

  1. The GM Says:

    I am a former Memphian. I moved to Memphis when I was eight. I left to further my career a few years ago. I have family and friends in Memphis that I miss everyday. I do not miss the the corruption and crime. Memphis is the new New Orleaans. It is a shame.
    The GM

    P.S. I do miss the BBQ. Nothing else compares. Once a Memphian, always a BBQ snob.


Leave a Reply

