What’s Wrong With This Picture?

So I’m listening to a report on MSNBC with Mika Brzezinki about the president of Iran and his visit to the U-S.  She was talking with Joe Scarborough (no this wasn’t on the Morning Joe show) about Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and how it appears that the U-S is on the path to war with Iran. 

Some pretty heady stuff in my opinion.  Some good observations were made by both and they referenced the 60-Minutes interview with M-A by Scott Pelley.  So Mika wraps up the segment with Joe and I’m not sure who was more disgusted with what came out of her mouth next: her or me.  She started to read a lead-in to a Brittney Spears story and she stopped with a look of disgust.   I will put this squarely on the shoulders of a producer and executive producer who apparently have no idea of what constitutes news or perhaps has his or her head so far up the posterior that the lack of oxygen prompted this story placement.  Mika, who earned applause after refusing to read a Paris Hilton story a few months back, was not a happy camper.  Joe Scarborough offered to read the B-S story and did and they both commented about how Brittney and the possibility of yet another war in the Middle East were basically on the same level news-wise.  My question is this:  Is it just me?  If they are doing this crap at the cable-network level,  why should we expect to see much better at the local level.  And yes, local TV news follows the example of cable news way too often.  Where do you think that ticker idea came from.  The thinking seems to be “if it’s good enough for CNN, it’s okay for us too.”  My biggest concern?  I’m running out of places to get my information about the world.  Thank goodness for the BBC.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “What’s Wrong With This Picture?”

  1. Ready Camera One, Take Two Says:

    Say it ain’t so, Joe.
    It’s never going to change. I’ve come to think of it as news by Wal-Mart. Everything is in there but it ain’t worth much..car chases, Brittney, O.J., shooting in North Memphis. The reason I hate shopping at Wal-Mart is that your milk, eggs and bread are there in the shopping cart right along side of your new pack of underwear and the fish bait. It just ain’t right! The newschannels have become the Wal-Marts of news. If Brittney checked into rehab and O.J. went on another car chase and Bin Laden was captured all at the same time, you know what would get live coverage. As right-wing and “nuke the whales” as I am, Current TV has even been a welcome relief. It may just be a little more Target then Wal-Mart. It’s also sad that I would rather watch how they make Blow Pops on the Food Network than local news.

  2. Richard.... Says:

    I can’t see where the Spears girl is news at any time myself.

    I didn’t see this program but I am glad Mika stopped.

  3. Elizabeth Says:

    I would love to see that video! I wonder if it’s on youtube yet…

  4. autoegocrat Says:

    Hey broadcasters, you shape the minds of this country more than the teachers.

    Think about that.

  5. Bob Says:

    And to throw insult on top of injury, the big story on yesterday’s “Today” show on NBC was an interview with Britney’s bodyguard. Are you kidding me?! As I tell journalism students today, “News used to be about what was important in your lives. Now it’s about celebrity and what market research says you want in your lives. I suppose it’s still journalism, but it’s of a different sort.”

  6. kibitzer Says:

    Good observations, Joe, but this story is weeks old. It has whiskers. What radio station were you listening to?

  7. joelarkins Says:

    Actually it is not weeks old. I’m not talking about the original incident where Mika pulled up short on reading a story. That occurred on Morning Joe where Mika does the job of reading news to give Joe a break from his rants. That’s the one that hit Youtube. This happened earlier this week while I was watching MSNBC and was during Mika’s news time around 10am Memphis time. Unless of course MSNBC has started airing reruns from several weeks ago or perhaps there was a tear in the space-time continuum. Those are possibilities too. So, having witnessed this first hand on the TeeVee, this one is still clean-shaven. lol
    Regards


Leave a Reply

