That’s Your Opinion and You’re Wrong & I’m Ready for My Close-up Mr./Ms. Director

Is it just my imagination or has the world gotten to be a meaner, less tolerant place?  It just seems some folks are waiting to be offended and it’s not a matter of race or sex.  I watch for what passes as news and the reporters and videographers are aggressive and in your face.  Some of the people they target (or their bodyguards if they have them) don’t mind striking out or striking back verbally or physically.  I listen to comments made on talk shows focusing on children, their parents and groups.  The rule of thumb seems to be if you’re not with me then you are against me and I will crush you or slander you or libel you all in the name of my side.  Maybe I’m looking at the past through rose-colored glasses but it seemed to me there was a time when you could have a discussion about something and agree to disagree and walk away on good terms.  Now, it’s all about shouting someone down or making some outrageous comments that have little or no basis  in truth.  And it’s not just on TV, it’s that way in society as well.  It seems there are a whole lot of things going on and nobody can step up to take responsibility anymore.  Simply put:  “It’s not my fault. Put the blame on someone else”.

Some on-air TV news folks are finding they have to relearn a few things when it comes to High Definition broadcasts.  This from a story in TVSpy.  The clarity of HD tends to show every pore, scar and other flaws of the people who try to look flawless on the tube.  Gone are the days when more pancake make-up is better. One station in Florida dealt with the issue by hiring a professional make-up artist to show the on-air folks how to apply make-up with an air-brush.  Now anyone who has ever attempted to use a spray-can to paint a home project can appreciate what kind of fun an air-brush make-up session can promise.  Oh, it may be just fine for those in big markets where they have a make-up person on staff.  But most stations don’t have that luxury.  Each person puts on his or her own make-up and the results are always quite varied.  (more on that in just a moment)  No word on when Memphis TV folks will go HD from the studio.  This may not be an issue just yet but you can bet it will be sooner than later.

When it came to putting on make-up, I will admit I slapped it on with a sponge and hoped I got the right mix on in the 2 to 3 minutes I allotted for “hiding my face”.  No one ever said anything one way or another and I wasn’t too concerned until one day when I was out and about.  A woman stopped me to chat and to tell me that she enjoyed watching in the mornings.  Then she said “tell the person who puts on your make-up that they’re putting on too much”.  I told her I would speak to the person immediately, thanked her and walked on.  The make-up was a little less heavy after that.

The bottom line:  viewers notice.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “That’s Your Opinion and You’re Wrong & I’m Ready for My Close-up Mr./Ms. Director”

  1. Doug J. Says:

    I hope you don’t mind me pointing this out — but I think you’re STILL putting on too much makeup. Oh wait, did I say that out loud? I thought I was just thinking it. I probably shouldn’t say anything, when I was allowed on TV, I’d go through a compact every couple of months just trying to cut the shine on my forehead. I think it actually caused a camera man retina damage once.

    Try the veal folks — I’m here all week!

  2. joelarkins Says:

    I don’t know, a little rouge to add color and something to help accentuate the cheekbones and you consider that too much? Just remember moisturize, moisturize, moisturize and always start with a good foundation.

  3. KCA Says:

    You two are funny! But, I’d advise you to keep your day jobs! (rimshot!)

  4. joelarkins Says:

    KCA, you sound like my wife! Thanks for checking in.
    Regards

  5. Richard.... Says:

    I have read that NBC uses filters on their HD cameras to make Meridith and Matt look better. Just watch and you can see how “soft” the facial details are in HD.

    But an airbrush for make-up?

  6. Todd Says:

    It’s my understanding that the cameras will be super sensitive, but also adjustable, as in their ability to focus, and for engineers to “soften up” the focus on said newspersons in front of the camera. My understanding is they plan on doing just that, “on purpose” as not to expose any glaring flaws.

    Which is awful nice of them.

  7. joelarkins Says:

    So, let me get this straight. The cameras will be supersensitive to detail but the engineers will soften them up. Doesn’t that kind of defeat the purpose of having high definition cameras in the first place? Also, does this mean that my favorite local TV weatherguys will be shown in that soft focus, dewey skin, virginal look that we’ve come to know and love from Doris Day from back in the day on the Big Silver Screen?
    I can’t wait!!!! Now I’m ready to invest in some HDTV. BRING IT ON!!!!!

  8. Richard.... Says:

    Yes sir Joe. That’s what it means. And yes, it defeats the whole purpose of high definition television. We have it here at home thru DirecTV and some programs look amazing. Mythbusters looks ok in HD as well as progarms on National Geographic.

    Can’t wait to see the morning gang on the station DOTR in HD, if it ever comes. LOL!


Leave a Reply

