IMUS on RFD? Those Network Honchos May be Crazy Like a Fox

He’s baaaaaacccckkkkkkk!.  Yes, the I-Man will be back in the saddle come Monday morning.  For those of you needing a fix of cantankerous, shoot-from-the-hip opinion, then Don Imus’ eight month hiatus coming to an end is good news.  But where can you find the cowboy hat wearing, denim clad Mr. Imus?  On the RFD network, that’s where.  There’s a great article in the New York Daily News that details Imus’s return and touches on his new TV home.  If you are looking for all things rural, the RFD channel is the place to be.  Granted, there are some shows on there that look like they were produced with some VHS equipment, but there are some decent offerings as well.  One show I TIVO on a semi-regular basis is “Alaska Magazine”, a TV magazine show that features stories from around the Last Frontier.  I’m checking them out in case I get a hankering to move for some elbow room.  Some might think that Imus will be lost in some backwater, 2nd tier cable network.  Perhaps.  But I think even with the longer tape delays and Imus supposedly minding his “Ps & Qs” he will still be a draw.  It may not be at the level he once was but I think there are those who will tune in to see what he has to say if they can find the channel. I get it because I have satellite TV.  (I can only guess that he is on the cable system somewhere.  )  And it wasn’t that RFD was the only place that would have him.  Apparently there was enough of a bidding war to come up with some big bucks.  What does RFD get from this?  Some great exposure, perhaps enough to compare it to Howard Stern moving to satellite radio.  People will now be tuning in to the RFD to check out Imus and perhaps explore some other options there as well.  Yes, it’s a gamble for RFD and some say the honchos there may be crazy to make such a move.  I think they truly may end up laughing all the way to the proverbial bank.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “IMUS on RFD? Those Network Honchos May be Crazy Like a Fox”

  1. Richard.... Says:

    Like “The Watchdog” says……..”I’ll be watching!”

    Thanks for the heads up on the I-Man!

  2. Joe G. Says:

    I didn’t bother to watch Imus when he was on MSNBC. I’d rather have RFD-TV on my cable so I can watch reruns of the Porter Wagoner Show (I loved watching that show on WSM-TV when I was a kid).

  3. Jeff Says:

    Im glad 77wabc is online,Dont have RFD in our channel lineup here at Pickwick.Certainly glad to hear the Iman again this morning.

  4. Cathy Says:

    I am so glad to have Imus and his crew back. I missed his imformative interviews, comedy, book reviews and musical guests. I especially find his political interviews entertaining and informative and am so glad that there is no yelling between the guests and Imus as on all the Fox news shows.


Leave a Reply

