Maybe It’s Just Me

I will admit I don’t get out much these days, at least on a school night.  Monday night was an exception.  By way of a client, my wife and I were invited to attend a Memphis Grizzlies game courtesy of WMC-TV.  I’ve only been to the FedEx Forum a handful of times and I will admit that if you attend a function there, doing so in one of the suites is the sweet way to go.  It was while sitting there in the suite watching the game and everything else that goes on during a Grizzlies’ event (which is a lot) that I noticed the rather strange looking logo that kept appearing on the jumbotron.  It featured a Grizzlies head with what appeared to be non-descript buildings growing out of the logo/head at various angles and then the structures trailed off.  At first I thought the  structures were buildings but  they all looked alike so  I couldn’t figure out just what they were.  If someone can shed some light on what I saw please do.  I’m not losing any sleep but I just hate to be the only one who doesn’t get it.  Right now, perhaps I am.

And speaking of puzzles, could someone explain something else I observed at th Grizzlies game.  During a time-out, I saw nicely dressed security people gather around the floor to guard the floor and perhaps the players.  Perhaps it was to make sure that some ner-do-well doesn’t run out onto the floor to make a scene of some sort.  I don’t see anything odd with that at all.  But each time three security guards, all expression-less,  stood around the free-throw lane or zone, guarding it.  They stood at the same three positions around the painted area almost under the basket looking outward with their backs to the free-throw zone. Were they afraid that someone would steal the paint?  Were they afraid someone would try to steal a net?  The first time they did it I thought it was just a fluke.  After that I pointed it out to some others and they thought perhaps maybe they were there to keep some yahoo from trying to dunk a ball or perhaps jump up and hang on the rim.  If anyone has an answer, please feel free to share.  I’d appreciate it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “Maybe It’s Just Me”

  1. Jeff Says:

    I think the first thing you described is a bear claws logo,(Gold or yellow claws?),Grizzlie Store has a hat or two with that logo on it.

    Im sure a few people got on the court at half time during a game and shot some hoops causing the need for extra security. Happened at High School games in Memphis before I left along with the gang fights.

  2. joelarkins Says:

    Actually the stuff I saw kind of grows out of the Grizzlies head logo and it doesn’t look anything like claws. They look like non-descript skyscraper type buildings that jut out at all angles and trail off away from the Grizzlies head. I’m not sure the significance. Maybe it was part of a graphic package set and somebody thought it was cool.

  3. kalisah Says:

    I saw that on the screen when I went to a game. I thought it was buildings coming out of his head, too. I didn’t get it either. Who’s doing graphics for the Grizzlies these days anyway?

  4. Josh Coleman Says:

    It is buildings, although it looks like a misshapen asterisk. I agree that it is a rather strange looking graphic.

  5. the tall tv guy Says:

    Joe,

    One of the worst brawls in U.S. sports history took place near the end of the Indiana Pacers-Detroit Pistons game in November, 2004. Fans and players threw punches; spectators tossed a chair, beer, ice and popcorn. Nine players were suspended more than 140 games by the NBA for a fracas commissioner David Stern called “shocking, repulsive and inexcusable.”

    As a result, security was increased at NBA games, including having ushers/security personnel surround the court at time outs, half time and after the game.

    The above incident happened when the Indiana players went into the stands. Maybe the guards need to be between the two groups!


Leave a Reply

