Wacky Videos about People on TV and Sometimes the Technology Just Doesn’t Work

With apologies to the film Forrest Gump “television news is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get”. Don’t believe me? Check out this live interview on Good Morning America with Diane Sawyer chatting with Diane Keaton. I will have to say it was a nice recovery by Sawyer after Keaton dropped the “F” bomb. No, this did not air nationwide. I read where it was bleeped in the Central, Mountain and Pacific time zones. Is there going to be fallout from this. Probably. Will it be over-hyped to the extent of showing someone’s breast on national TV? Who knows. These days there are so many people waiting to be offended that I’m sure someone will get a hand slapped (or worse) on this. But first it will have to go through countless appeals and perhaps by that time, it will have just faded away or maybe I will have faded away. Then there is the video of Katie Couric who was at the desk but “off the air” one recent election night. The video featured on “My Damn Channel” shows what really goes on behind the scenes at every anchor desk in the country. If you want to chuckle, give this video a view. Then there is a local video here in the Memphis market that I was actually told about last year but was never able to watch in its entirety. I ran across the video when I TIVOed a couple of shows on WHBQ Fox 13. What is that video you ask? That video is the one featuring the girl who sings about the No-Hype Weather. I had tried to view this on the WHBQ website it could never get it to play. A couple of friends of mine said they couldn’t watch it either. Maybe I can get somebody to post it on YouTube and give me a link so we can view it from this blog. As for the video, I liked it and watched it several times. My wife thought it was a scream and quite clever in the way of marketing. Is this a local production or a syndicated piece? Anyway, someone help me get that video to a place where we can watch it.
And speaking of TIVO, technology left me holding the bag. I’m a big fan of the mini-series Lonesome Dove. I read the book and have seen the original series several times and read the most recent installment “Comanche Moon” a couple of years ago and was looking forward to watching this miniseries on CBS. It turns out my TIVO only recorded the first and third installment. I tried to watch it on the CBS website but had no luck there. I guess I will now have to wait until it comes out on DVD. It has really ruined my week. I guess that will teach me a lesson huh.
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Wacky Videos about People on TV and Sometimes the Technology Just Doesn’t Work”

  1. drew Says:

    local production on the fox 13 video. david stotts is the promo guru, and he’s awesome.

  2. joelarkins Says:

    Is it possible to view the video OFF the Fox 13 website since Ican’t seem to get it to load up. Is this on Youtube by chance?

  3. Doug J. Says:

    Of course, I’m wondering what you thought about the parts of “Comanche Moon” that you were able to TiVo — some of reviews were downright unkind. I’ll admit that I didn’t watch any of the earlier miniseries — and as much as I enjoy Steve Zahn in pretty much everything he does, I’m trying to imagine him and Robert Duvall playing the same character, albeit years apart.

  4. Richard.... Says:

    Get the video here Joe!

  5. joelarkins Says:

    Thanks for sharing. The longer video is even more involved and even more clever.
    Regards


Leave a Reply

