How Do They Cover Stormy Weather in Other Countries?

By now, most folks here in the MidSouth and other parts of the country are starting to relax and get on with their lives after the severe weather that pounded the South earlier this week. I say most because those who lost family, friends, their homes, businesses, dorm rooms and other property are left with some physical, financial and emotional scars to deal with. I’ve commended the work of the weather people during the Tornado Warnings. I will admit, I haven’t watched local TV coverage (I have seen national coverage) and the only thing shared with me was that one female anchor I used to work with was wearing an “interesting hat” during a live shot somewhere in Memphis. I didn’t see it and can only take the word of someone who shared withe me. I also have never gotten confirmation nor denial about someone on Memphis TV dropping the “F” bomb while on the air Tuesday night so I will write that off as an urban myth that someone was trying to get started.

The coverage of severe weather in the U-S in general and the MidSouth in particular has caught the attention of a reader of this blog who one interned at a Memphis TV station before apparently nixing a career in the glamorous and high paying world of TV news and then eventually moving to Brazil. (I’m not sure if one move prompted the other but that is a story for another time). I apologize in advance for the small type but WordPress won’t let me make it larger.  This is what Chris had to say:

Here in Sao Paulo, the 2nd largest city in the world, we have weather
reporters. I don't think they really have a clue as to what is going on
except what is told to them by the Braziilian meteorologists, who in
turn I believe get their info from the NWS! We get amazingly heavy
thunderstorms but they have never, in 14 years of life here, broken into
programming. It's more like, "Hey it's a thunderstorm. If you don't have
sense enough to run for cover, deal with it." Here, break into a
telenovela, viewers will break into your face!

Actually, if a TV station in Memphis interrupts a popular soap opera, the phones start ringing with people feeling the need to question the ancestral lineage of the person who answered the phone and the weather person du jour who happens to be on air at the time and at some point in time may even offer a suggestion of a sexual nature that if they really thought about it, would in all practicality be physically impossible (or at least it is for me). Chris also asked another question about weather people. Here it is:

By the way, and I mean no offense whatsoever but what exactly do
station meteorologists do once they have their maps and forecasts ready for the day? I do remember when I interned at WMC, 20+ years ago, Dave Brown always updating things, checking cities out, on the phone about something. But when there are 2+ people doing weather nowadays, is that just kind of a "show of force". Again, I mean no disrespect and am thankful stations have meteorologists (assuming they have their degree) to keep viewers safe.

As I said, just wanted to share and if someone has information from yet another country, please share as well.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “How Do They Cover Stormy Weather in Other Countries?”


  1. Heck, I’ve interrupted church broadcasts on Sunday morning for severe weather back in Fort Smith / Fayetteville, AR and was told, in no uncertain terms, how I was going to Hades for the interrupting the preaching of God’s word…. and this was by grandmotherly -types who were *quite* explicit in their thoughts. Yes, Austen Onek, disappointing church service viewers since 1994!

    As to the question of what happens after the show GFX/Info is ready to go: I always spend time creating or designing graphics and animations for use by myself or other staff members. I have about 20 different projects going at once and there is always something new weather / science / astronomical related to tell the audience about. Plus, like this week, there is always e-mail to answer and other things.


Leave a Reply

