What Do the Movies “Brokeback Mountain”, “Capote” and “Walk the Line” Have in Common?

What do the movies, Brokeback Mountain, Capote and Walk the Line have in common other than the fact they received nominations for Academy Awards two years ago? In our household, they were just viewed this past weekend.  My wife and I stopped going to movie theaters to watch films after we encountered a growing number of people attedning who must have thought they were in their living rooms.  I’m talking about rude people, primarily younger, who insisted on talking to each other during the movie, talking to the characters on the screen and answering and talking on their cell phones.  We found that complaining to ushers did little good since the ushers told us that those other patrons had paid to get in too.  Asking someone to refrain from talking did little or no good and usually prompted them to get louder (I guess so they’d show us!) So we now wait until a film comes out on DVD.  As is the case with these three films, we waited a lot longer.   My point on this post is that after watching all three films and they were all three very good films, my wife and I are of the opinion that Joaquin Phoenix should have received the award for best actor.  He played his character convincingly, especially since this was a person (Johnny Cash) who was very well known by the general public.  Philip Seymour Hoffman did a great job as well as Truman Capote and Heath Ledger did a great job as Ennis Del Mar in Brokeback Mountain but Joaquin Phoenix should have received the award IMHO.  Let’s see now, the Academy Awards are coming up this weekend so expect a review of who won what in about two years.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “What Do the Movies “Brokeback Mountain”, “Capote” and “Walk the Line” Have in Common?”

  1. kalisah Says:

    I hate going to the theater. If I do go, I sit on the very back row so there’s no one behind me chatting it up. I can’t believe how kids today are so NOT intimidated by adults. If an adult had told me to shut up in a movie theater when I was a teenager, I would have been mortified.

  2. RP Says:

    For the reasons you state is why I don’t go to a public movie….not to mention the high prices for popcorn or other snacks.

    As for those movies? Haven’t seen ’em and I’ll wait till Capote and Walk The Line make it to PPV and then watch. I refuse to watch the other one you mention!

  3. ajt Says:

    Totally agree with you about people treating theatres like living rooms. Plus can’t stand the commercials (which we pay to see!) and the too-loud and for the most part badly put together previews.

    Altho liked Phoenix and Hoffman in their respective roles, it was Heath Ledger as Ennis Del Mar who blew me away and who I thought should have won the Oscar.


Leave a Reply

