Hey Joe, Can You Score Me a Couple of Tickets to the Memphis/Tennessee Basketball Game

Ev’rybody’s got the fever
that is something you all know
Fever isn’t such a new thing
Fever started long ago

From the song “Fever” by Elvis Presley

It’s been a while since something this big has hit Memphis that has two sides squaring off separating into two camps.  No, I’m not talking about the big Yellow Fever outbreak from the early days of Memphis history.   I also won’t go so far as to say the last thing this big to hit the Bluff City was the “Civil War” (or as some refer to it as the Recent Unpleasantness or The War of Northern Aggression) but the college basketball game between the University of Memphis and the University of Tennessee is right up there. Oh, some will tell you that it’s just a ballgame. Yah right. We’ve got Number 2 Tennessee coming to the home of Number 1 Memphis. Both teams have attitude and there’s a good reason for it. Some folks are calling this the National Championship title game. Before I go any further, let me state for the record that I’m a Kentucky Wildcat fan and my wife is a Vanderbilt Commodore fan. I haven’t had much to cheer about in basketball this year and I won’t even go into football. As a ‘Dore fan, my wife doesn’t have much use for Tennessee (unless they’re playing Florida).  To give you an idea of how big this Memphis/Tennessee game is, Friday, my wife and I are supposed to judge team spirit at a client’s offices scattered around the Memphis Metro area. We’re going in to see all of the Blue & Gray and Big Orange decorations set up at these various offices. (I can tell you what colors we WON’T be wearing.) While all of this is in fun, I can almost bet you what WILL happen come Saturday night during the big game. I predict that so many people in the Memphis area will be watching the game that Crime will actually drop in the Bluff City, much like what happened during the Beatles appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show. Some of you may scoff, but I bet if you check with Memphis PD, that will be the case. Now afterwards, things may skyrocket as people get into fights AFTER the game as folks on the winning side start shooting off their mouths. But that’s another story. I will say I had to laugh during a phone conversation with my good friend Jack who now lives down in Florida near Orlando. If you were to cut Jack, he would indeed bleed orange. He’s the kind of fan sports teams love because Jack will load up his family and drive for hours to see U-T play football. He asked me if I could score him a couple of tickets to the big game in Memphis. I think I’d have a better chance of winning the race for president. So Jack and his lovely bride Pam along with children Eric and Hannah will do what many others including me and the rest of us at stately Larksmith Manor will do.  We will watch the big game at home.  And at the end of the game, somebody (those on the winning side) will probably call somebody on the losing side and offer heartfelt condolences while on the phone and talk about what a good game it was.  Then the person who made the call (the winning side) will hang up the phone and start dancing around with glee, shaking what their mama gave ’em.  All I can say is “May the best team win”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “Hey Joe, Can You Score Me a Couple of Tickets to the Memphis/Tennessee Basketball Game”

  1. Brad Says:

    Well, if the best team were to win, that would be the Tigers, right? I’m just sayin’…

  2. JAC Says:

    Go VOLS!!!!!!!!!!!

    How many Tigers did they have to spring from the glamour slammer this year?

    lol

  3. The GM Says:

    What’s the going :30 rate for a commercial in that game. Even though its on cable, it should be no less than $2,000 per.

    Yes, I’m always thinking about the money.

    The GM

  4. Doug J. Says:

    I was in Atlanta visiting friends recently (and before you ask, yes, I do have friends), and a loyal UT grad, whose lovely wife is original from Memphis, asked me if I could score some tickets to the game… And this is with him knowing that I’m not a UT grad or a U of M grad — he wondered whether I’d have access to the FedEx box at the Forum because I’m an employee.

    I reminded him that those seats tend to be for major clients — and I’m not even a major employee… but that he & whoever else he wanted to bring were welcome to watch the game on my HDTV.

    Now that brings me to my real point — I AM THRILLED THAT THE GAME IS ON ESPN!! I’m so sick of watching the Tigers on CSS or CSTV. I’ve seen clearer kinescopes of golden age TV from the late 40s. I mean, really, last weekend’s UAB game looked like something you don’t mention in a polite blog. Isn’t it amazing that the #1 team in the country hardly ever makes it on TV on a watchable channel??

  5. Tiger Fan Says:

    JAC, as an impartial observer only, do you think it’s a good idea for a UT fan to take a jab about another school about athletes being arrested???

    Just asking

  6. JAC Says:

    Tiger Fan

    No its not a good idea,sorry I hit a nerve. I did hear that charges were dropped on two Tigers by a Memphis Judge this past week. Enjoy being Number 1 while you can and good luck.


Leave a Reply

