If You Covered Anything At Graceland, Chances are You Dealt with This Guy

There’s nothing like the death of a person younger than you to make you feel old.  Such was the case this morning when I opened my email and found a note from former co-worker and current employee at Graceland, Kevin Kern who shared with me that long-time spokesperson Todd Morgan was found dead in his home over the weekend.  Todd who was only 45 years old apparently died of a massive heart attack.  I had a number of dealings with T-M when I first arrived in Memphis and I ended up covering the various Elvis related stories.  I always found Todd to be quite accommodating for stories while still managing to be protective of “The King” and his legacy.  The only time he was difficult to find was during Elvis Tribute Week ( or what was referred to by the media as Dead Elvis Week) and that’s because he had media outlets from across Memphis and around the country tugging at him at the same time as they all tried to make deadlines.  I last saw and spoke to Todd last fall when I stopped by to chat with Kevin Kern at Graceland.  As I said, there’s something about someone younger than you suddenly dying that reminds you that your days are indeed numbered and that the perceived invulnerability of youth gives way to the reality of middle age and eventually the inevitability of old age if one is lucky enough to reach it.  Todd Morgan was a good guy and I know that his friends, family and those who worked with him will miss him.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “If You Covered Anything At Graceland, Chances are You Dealt with This Guy”

  1. Doug J. Says:

    I’ll second your thoughts. Even though Elvis week was usually an assignment given to the newest reporters, I enjoyed it enough to do it three years in a row when I was at NC3. I never had anything but good experiences with Todd, even when I wandered off from my appointed handlers when I was on the grounds.

    Todd would be a good subject for Las Savell’s sign this week; he did make Memphis a better place.

  2. Denise Says:

    Todd was a great guy…so sorry to see him go. His family is returning him to Clarendon, AR where he grew up. At least his family had a ‘beautiful’ day to lay him to rest.
    I was a Tour Guide at G’Land and Todd was always fun to be around. God rest his soul and God bless his family.


Leave a Reply

