No Station, Same Attitude. When Penguins Fly and It’s Hard Out There for a Pimp and for Me Too!

Man, oh man. It’s hard out there for a pimp and for a working stiff like me too. Between a couple of projects that have kept me busy, the opening of wild turkey season and not a lot to write about, some folks have been complaining that I’m not cranking out the stuff for the blog. Well, no one is feeding me any information lately and I need the hook-up in a big old way. My email is at the top of the blog.

I was so busy I didn’t have time to do any “April Foolin’ “.  That bothers me because those who know me know that I always have time for foolishness. So, to make up for my lack of foolishness, I want to share this video about a group of penguins found to be adapting to global warming. Check out this video. It really gets good about a minute or so into it.

Finally, I received an email a couple of days ago from someone who wanted to know where Andy Wise was since he wasn’t Down on the River anymore. I rather flippantly responded that he had left WREG to go to WMC and if the emailer needed an “Andy” fix, he could go to Oak Court Mall or Wolfchase Galleria where I’m told that a poster of Andy could be seen touting him at his new home. The emailer didn’t appear to be amused.  My apologies.   Anyway, you can now see AW in the Midtown area without venturing inside Channel 5.   They’re proudly displaying the mug of Mr. Wise on the east and west side of WMC’s building on Union. I don’t know how long the poster has been up as I haven’t been over on Union recently.  I guess his non-compete clause (unlike mine) doesn’t include any wording on his “likeness” being used in the market. Otherwise there might be a case for a  violation of the non-compete.  (Could Andy be on his own side in the matter?) In the meantime, for those of you needing your AW fix, here it is.  If you need me, I’m turkey hunting.

andy-wise-cropped.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “No Station, Same Attitude. When Penguins Fly and It’s Hard Out There for a Pimp and for Me Too!”

  1. Doug J. Says:

    What — you went hunting and didn’t call me? Luckily for me, you aren’t enough of a techie to post that video of me in camo.

    Anyway, I sent some used-to-be-a-big-wheel in Memphis news scoop your way. Enjoy.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Mr. Larkins! Wow, this is my first time reading your blog, and I must say that I find this entry extremely amusing. I, too, noticed Andy Wise’s big, freaking banner at Oak Court Mall. So, now, when I am trying to pick out shoes at Banana Republic, I just ask myself, “WWAD?”. I know he’ll show me the way. Take Care!

  3. joelarkins Says:

    Jennifer, I’m sorry to hear that you have either so much time on your hands or so little of a life that you have time to read this blog. Don’t get me wrong. I’m quite flattered. It’s nice to know that someone besides my former co-worker Doug Johnson has time to check out my ramblings. Thanks for taking time to write and I would suggest that you try to get out of the house more often and perhaps try socializing but then I’d be left only with Doug and that would really be scary. lol As for WWAD when it comes to shoes, it’s hard to say. He’s got the legs for stiletto heels and he looks good in them but he prefers a simple black pump. It’s more versatile.
    And speaking of Mr. Johnson. Doug, I WILL share that picture of you wearing camo on my next post. Now that is something to look forward to.

  4. AlamoFunro Says:

    I knew Andy Wise when he wore stiletto heels.
    He was alot younger then and needed the money — HA !!

  5. Pam Crittendon Roberson Says:

    Doug isn’t the only former coworker who reads your blog regularly! I feel so neglected…

  6. joelarkins Says:

    Okay, there are TWO former co-workers who admit they read this. And yes Pam, I PROMISE I’ll pay you that five bucks I owe you. On second thought, just borrow it from Doug. I will also look through my files to see if I have any photos of you I can post……..


  7. Uhhh, make that 3. I’m plum over here on the east coast in Virginny and read your blog here! And no I haven’t forgotten your e-mail from two weeks ago. I am replying this weekend!

    DJ in camo? inquiring minds want to see!
    -T-


Leave a Reply

