It’s ALL about WMC These Days & The City of Louisville Knows How to “Get a Party Started”.

Somebody asked me the other day if I was picking on WMC.  No, it’s just that I’m folks from over there are feeding me information and nobody else around town is these days.

Case in point:  I got an email last week with a link to the WMC website about a car giveaway.  The giveaway isn’t just any old car.  Actually it supposedly involves an “old” car but it’s an old car a lot of people would be salivating to have.  It’s Dave Brown’s Corvette.  I’ve seen Mr. Brown tooling around in this car and he looks good in it.  In fact, few people would NOT look good in it.  However when I clicked on the video it wouldn’t play and I got the message that the video I was trying to view was NOT available. If this is a legitimate promotion then the competition in town will be hard pressed to match the promotions value of this.   I’d say WMC has ratcheted up the game a bit here.

I also received an email from someone asking me if I had seen the latest ad on WMC running for Andy Wise.  I’m told there was lol.  I didn’t received a link to it so,  short of watching WMC around the clock to catch it, I’m out of luck.  If someone can send me a link, “hook a fella up.”

And I just returned from a quick trip to Louisville, another old town on the river trying to boost interest in all things Louisville.  Let me tell you, the folks in Memphis could learn a few things from them on how to get a party started.  They have an air show that kicks off the big Derby celebration, kind of their version of Memphis in May.  The air show is called “Thunder over Louisville“.  Despite the overcast and nasty weather, they put on a great day long air show that was carried live this year by the Fox affiliate.  (I think they rotate the honors among stations each year).  But it wasn’t the air show that so impressed me.  It was the fireworks display at the end of the show.  For 30 minutes, a full half hour, they had a fireworks display that dwarfed anything that Disney ever dreamed of and that is saying something.  Just when I thought they couldn’t top themselves, they did.  They had closed down a bridge over the Ohio River and used that entire span as part of the launching platform.  That was in addition to the barges on the river used as launching platforms.  To kick off the fireworks show, they had two astronauts aboard the space station do the countdown and showed the video live.  Folks, THAT’S how you get a party started.  Congrats to Louisville on a job well done.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “It’s ALL about WMC These Days & The City of Louisville Knows How to “Get a Party Started”.”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Joe,
    Thanks for noticing that Louisville CAN do some things right. If you were impressed with what you saw on television, why don’t you and your lovely bride come next year and view it live…television just doesn’t do it justice!

  2. joelarkins Says:

    As much as I like aviation and air shows, I may just do that even though it interferes with my turkey hunting. Besides, I’m always enjoy the northern brand of Southern hospitality that we receive up that way.
    Regards

  3. joelarkins Says:

    So, THAT’S how you put somebody’s name out there without actually using the name.
    Clever.

  4. Doug J. Says:

    That has got to be the single dumbest commercial for TV news that I’ve ever seen — EVER.

    I get it… and yes, you could use the word “clever.” But cheese whiz — that’s got to be the worst example of a bad combination of “too cute” and “trying too hard” and “inside baseball” that’s hit Memphis TV since the last promo channel 3 did with me in it (let me put it this way, I didn’t know anything about tai chi, but you wouldn’t have known that watching the promo).

    Nobody’s going to forget who Andy is in a single year. And you’re going to have a lot of folks doing just what the actors (!) in the spot did; they’ll miss the obviousness of the clues and never figure out who it’s supposed to be. In a situation like this, they can run a few “he’s coming” spots a couple of months before Andy is clear to go on their air — then spend everybody’s retirement money to splash his name and face all over the viewing area when he makes his triumphant return.

    I know I’m not making any friends in WMC’s promotions department, and I apologize for being so critical — but UGH. I guess what I’m saying is that I don’t really like the spot now that I’ve seen it.

  5. JD Says:

    As it was put in an old “Our Gang” short….. “It’s mush! You’ll eat it AND like it! Ya get me?”

    Cute commercial though!

  6. JD Says:

    Hey Joe…Just thought of somebody I haven’t thought of in a number of years. Mark Frankum the weather guy that used to be at Channel 3.

    You have any idea of what became of him? (As I recall he seemed to be a pretty sociable and likeable sort of fellow.)

  7. joelarkins Says:

    Mark Frankum is alive and well in Jonesboogie, Rockensaw. He got out of the TV news business and is concentrating all of his efforts on his aviation business SkyVenture. They now have operations in Jonoesboro and Fayetteville, Arkansas. I last saw him about two or three years ago. He shed the toupee, cut his hair really shot and is loving life.
    Regards

  8. AN5 Employee Says:

    Seems like you guys are sippin on that HATER-ADE!! HAHAHA! You don’t like the spot because YOU DIDN’T COME UP WITH IT! HAHAHAH!!

  9. Doug J. Says:

    To: AN5 Employee
    From: Fmr NC3 Employee
    Re: Cornball Promo

    Sir or madam,

    I didn’t like the spot because it wasn’t very good. Anyone who knows me well will tell you I’d say the same thing if it had been a WREG promo.

    Andy Wise is very, very good at what he does and I fully expect him to be very successful at WMC. It is 3’s loss and 5’s gain. But the spot still isn’t that good — IMHO — and it’s only my opinion.

  10. AN5 Employee Says:

    Its good that you recognize!

  11. Ryan Vaughan Says:

    Mark Frankum was my first Chief… Great guy and funny! I learned a lot from him about wx and the biz.

    In case you guys did not know, he had a heart attack a few months back. Since then, he has lost weight and does not smoke anymore. SkyVenture is doing GREAT. I remember the day that he walked into the StormCenter sharing his idea…. He asked, “Does the name… Sky…Venture sound good?” Apparently it did sound good because business is great! LOL

  12. joelarkins Says:

    I did NOT know that MF suffered a heart attack. Glad to hear that he is doing well and that he gave up the smokes. Thanks for the update.
    Regards


Leave a Reply

