In Case You Needed a Pam McKelvy Fix…..PMack is Baaaccckkkkkk & Does Your Choice of Computers Indicated That You Have a Superiority Complex

I seem to be far out of the loop these days but occasionally someone tosses me a bone. That was the case from a writer posting about the reappearance of Pam McKelvy on the Memphis airwaves. Here’s what the writer shared with me:

I just read on Pam McKelvy’s blog that she has began hosting a morning radio show for 98.9FM. Great news that she is returning to work, but I thought she had a great presence when she was at WREG. I’d like to see her resume an anchor position at a local TV station. What do you think. Here’s a link to her blog http://pammckelvy.blogspot.com/

In case you don’t bother to check out her blog, this is an excerpt of what she posted back April 1st, No fooling!

I am officially back at work.
Monday, I began co-hosting a morning talk show on KIM 98.9 FM. The show is by women and for women!
It’s called the Memphis Morning View. We’re on from 6 to 9 am.
I’m excited and glad to be doing something I believe in.
Ain’t life grand!
You can listen live on the http://www.KIM989FM.COM.
Also, Check out my Internet interview with Epic1 Media productions, also on the http://www.epic1media.com. Pmack

As Pam pointed out, I’m not among the demographic the radio station is targeting so I guess that’s one of the reasons I missed her return. I must have missed it in the local papers as well. Oh well. So for all of you wondering what happened to Pam, to all of those who share with me how much you miss her and how you wished she would get back on the air, you can finally rest easy. PMack is back.

I was working in the office listening to the radio when a report came on about computers and their owners. You’ve probably seen the ads with the two guys and one of them represents a Mac while the other is a PC, The Mac guy is a cool kind of younger hipster and he has all of his act together. The PC guy is more of a doofus, an older uncool kind of guy who always has/had issues. Well, it turns out that many Mac owners consider themselves more cool, with it and hip than those who merely work with PCs. Here is the intro to the story: A new marketing study has found Mac owners tend to think they’re more extraordinary than the average Joe. They’re also more likely than PC users to whiten their teeth, drive hybrids, drink Starbucks coffee and eat organic food. If you want more information, check out the report on NPR’s Marketplace. As for me, I own and work on both. Does that make me “an above average” Joe?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “In Case You Needed a Pam McKelvy Fix…..PMack is Baaaccckkkkkk & Does Your Choice of Computers Indicated That You Have a Superiority Complex”

  1. Doug J. Says:

    I’m on my third Mac since 1994. I’m also still waiting for that “extraordinary” feeling to wash over me.

  2. joelarkins Says:

    Doug, I think it’s safe for those of us who have worked/are working with you that you are at least “special”. Besides aren’t you a tree-hugging, tofu-eating, Starbucks-drinking soon-to-be-living-in-a-Downtown-Memphis condo/townshouse, cool kind of guy anyway. Jeez, don’t be greedy. Save some for the rest of us.
    Regards

  3. Doug J. Says:

    Okay, since you put it that way…

  4. JD Says:

    Hey Joe!
    Off topic but did you do any good with the “gobblers” this year? If not you might try as close as Fayette County. They literally have been standing by the roadside watching the cars go by along 64!

  5. joelarkins Says:

    I have yet to “convert” a gobbler this season although it has not been for lack of trying. The birds just are not cooperating with me. I plan to give it one more attempt before the season is up. As for birds standing by the road, they sure aren’t doing that when I’m around.
    Regards


Leave a Reply

