When You are Up to Your Ears in Alligators……

Joe, where the heck have you been?  Joe, is your blog still active?  Joe, are you planning to post anything new or just let this thing die?  Busy with work, Yes it is and Yes and Not just yet.

I’ve been swamped lately and the brain cells that I normally devote to posting have been tied up.  Yes, it’s hard out there for a pimp.  I can tell you that you CAN stick a fork in my because I’m done…with the Democratic Convention that is.  As I’ve mentioned before my wife is a political junkie and these days she is in heaven, listening to all of the commentary, listening to strategy from the pundits and generally having a good time.  Me, I wander off to another room and watch re-runs of CSI on Spike.  Occasionally from across the house I’ve heard my wife complaining loudly to the the TV set.  Sometimes the two dogs come running in where I’m parked just to hide.  I’m not sure if they are tired of HER ranting and raving about politics or the commentators ranting and raving about politics.  Of course all of this will come to a close this week just in time for THE REPUBLICAN CONVENTION!!!!!.

To add confusion to mayhem is the start of the college football season.  Recently my wife was exposed to the Olympic coverage on HD.  I think I’ve seen her leafing through the ads in the Sunday paper of HD TV sets and I know she was briefly flirting with the idea of a college football sports package on satellite.  I think if she ever sits through a college football game while watching it in HD,  then she and I will be making a visit to the local Big Box Electronics store to drag an HDTV set home.  I told her I wasn’t quite ready to commit to HD since I don’t watch that much programming which is available in HD.  Of course I’m told that there are more HD programs available on satellite than cable.  And it could be that if we had an HD TV set, I might start seeking out HD programming.  Then again, if my wife is standing in front of the set shouting at A) bonehead politicians and pundits or B) bonehead college football coaches or players, then the dogs and I will probably be hiding out watching more reruns of CSI anyway.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “When You are Up to Your Ears in Alligators……”

  1. Willie Says:

    Get a good HD package and you’ll watch stuff you never CONSIDERED watching on regular TV. Everything looks different, and you’ll find yourself flipping through only the HD channels and virtually abandoning all the others. As you know, more programming is added every day (every bit of the Olympics was in HD), and every old movie (and every old TV show shot on film) faces potential new life in HD. It’s fun stuff!

  2. joelarkins Says:

    Of course before I even get there, I’m already wrestling with numbers such as 1080i, 1080p, and was told by one person not to even bother with 720p or 720i. Then there is plasma VS LCD. It’s almost enough to make one’s head explode.

  3. Doug Johnson Says:

    ABC News began a soft launch of HD programming during the convention. Mmm, Charlie Gibson in HD…

    Anyway, they’re using 780p cameras, ’cause that what the network uses for sports. Allegedly better to capture the fast-moving balls (oh if I had a nickel for every time I heard that!! Sorry, folks). Once they crank up the cameras in NYC early next month, all 3 networks will be showing their news in HD.

    BriWi over on NBC wears too much makeup.. Katie has a chest full of freckles… and Charlie looks older than you might think — That’s the HD news breakdown for the nets… although I will say, the convention looked better in HD… ‘ceptin’ that Bill Clinton is looking more like a skinny Tip O’Neill every day!

    The review I saw of ABC’s coverage was that you might not be able to tell the difference between 720 and 1080… Unless you’ve got really, really good eyes.

  4. joelarkins Says:

    Sooooo, I guess what you’re saying Doug is that I should go for the 720 because you know I can’t see anyway. And was the camera number (780) correct on capturing the fast moving balls or should that be 720? I really don’t know and was just trying to get some clarification.

  5. Doug Johnson Says:

    720p would be correct. 780 was a misstroke (if I had a nickel for every time I heard THAT!).

  6. Doug Johnson Says:

    There’s a nice review on CNet that might could help you:
    “720p vs. 1080p HDTV: The final word” — the address is
    http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-6449_7-6810011-1.html

  7. Doug Johnson Says:

    On another topic. Nielsen released the DMA list, and Memphis continues to drop. Entire list here:
    http://www.newsblues.com/Secure/Source/dma.htm


  8. If you will just watch cable tv, i recommend 720p since most broadcasts support 720p. but if you go with bluray, definetely 1080p.


Leave a Reply

