Would the Real Governor of Illinois Please Speak Out, What Was Going On with The Weather Channel Thursday Morning and A Link to a Much Requested Video Regarding Local TV Layoffs

which-is-which1

Like it or not, I am a child of pop culture.  I was in the early years of grade school when the Beatles invaded.  I remember watching them on Ed Sullivan with my older brothers and sister.  I’ve been a huge Star Trek fan since the series came out.  I remember being scared to death as a young pup watching the original “The Day the Earth Stood Still” on NBC’s Saturday Night at the Movies.  I read comic books (I was a DC fan and only later in life came to appreciate Marvel) and I read Mad magazine.  I used to borrow copies from friends at school.  The face of Alfred E. Newman stood out like a sore thumb.  The whole “What, me worry?” thing still makes me chuckle.  So when the scandal about the governor of Illinois first broke and I saw this guy with his hair down across his forehead and this toothy grin and his attitude  of  “What, me worry….my butt may be in a sling but if I ignore it, it will go away”  really caught my attention.  I told my lovely and talented bride how much the governor of Illinois looks like A.E. Neuman and she agreed.  For those not familiar with the two, I’ve put their images side by side.  I report, you decide.

What was going on with The Weather Channel on Comcast cable Thursday morning?   I flipped on the TV to catch the weather and we had sound but no picture.  It was the same on several sets.  Local on the 8s had audio but no video.  Then a local commercial flashed on the screen and I thought the problem was remedied.  I was wrong.  After the commercial, the audio but no video situation returned.  It’s back to normal this afternoon.  If anyone knows what was going on, let me know.

I’ve had several requests from folks wanting to know if Joe Birch’s on-air story about the termination of several co-workers from WMC was available on Youtube.  It seems not everyone saw the announcement.  Well,  ask and ye shall receive.  This video link was shared with me privately and I am in turn sharing it with you publicly.   As always if you need something and I can get you the hook-up, let me know.  As they used to say at the station DOTR,  “I”m proud to serve”.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Would the Real Governor of Illinois Please Speak Out, What Was Going On with The Weather Channel Thursday Morning and A Link to a Much Requested Video Regarding Local TV Layoffs”

  1. NILES Says:

    I don’t get it. There was nothing special about that. Just reading stuff off the prompter.

  2. the tall tv guy Says:

    No, you don’t. Joe added some personal comments about losing co-workers, including his on air partner. He handled a very difficult moment in a professional manner while adding something extra. It’s difficult to do and maintain your composure at the same time.

    Is the Illinois governor going for the Donald Trump look??
    Nice comparison to A. E. Neuman. Mad magazine would create alternative lyrics for Christmas carols. Some you could repeat, some, you better not.

    Merry Christmas and may 2009 be a better year for us all.

  3. Richard Says:

    The Blagofella has narrow set eyes. My wife says never trust anyone with narrow set eyes!
    Great comparison Joe! Kudos to you!!

  4. joelarkins Says:

    Your comment about narrow-set eyes took me back about 35 to 40 years ago when I first read the Louis L’Amour book entitled “The Daybreakers”. For those not familiar with that book, and have not seen the 1979 made for TV movie called “The Sacketts” it featured the Sackett brothers (from east Tennessee I believe) who were traveling out west. At one point they stopped in a town and encountered a young blond woman whose father ran the local town. As Tyree Sackett pointed out, “she was a might narrow between the eyes” She reminded him a horse he had dealt with who was a “might narrow between the eyes” and he said you never could turn your back on that animal.
    Maybe there is something to be said for that physical trait.
    Thanks for checking in.

  5. JD Says:

    Hey Joe, just stopping by to wish you and the Missus a very Merry Christmas, and I also include the “pups!”
    Happy New Year too!


Leave a Reply

