A New (and Historic) Day Dawns in the U.S.

I generally try to keep politics out of my blog but today I am making an exception.  More on that in a moment.  When it comes to politics, I consider myself a centrist.  Depending on the issues and where the person judging me might be standing, I might lean toward being a moderate conservative or a moderate liberal.  And this is a far cry from the very conservative atmosphere in which I grew up.

Having said all of this, I am excited to see our new president sworn in.  I know there are some who are grumbling about Barack Obama and some can’t wait to see him fail.  But policies and politics aside for a moment, we are witnessing history and there appears (for the moment anyway) a new excitement among people I chat with.  It’s like when we get that unexpected snowfall, or the first real day of spring arrives.  There is a feeling of electricity in the air.  Folks are excited about the new president and the hopes and dreams he inspires appear to be contagious.  Face it, these days, with the economy in the doldrums, people left and right losing their jobs, our 401Ks worth half as much as they were a year or so ago and two wars being waged overseas just to name a few problems we face in America, everyone is looking for something good to hang on to.  Granted, some see the arrival of the new president and his policies and politics as the proverbial “Second Coming”.  I don’t go that far but I do see his arrival as what I hope is a change in the direction our country is heading.  And that “hope” is what I’m counting on these days.  I guess I’ve reached the age where I’m more concerned for my two sons and their spouses and my granddaughter who will turn four in April.  Don’t get me wrong, I still worry about the future for my lovely and talented bride and me but I really worry about the future for the younger generation.

So regardless of your particular politics, for now, let’s wish good thoughts for our incoming president who is the leader of our entire nation and not just one political party.  Let’s wish Mr. Obama the best of luck as he becomes our Commander in Chief.  Let’s watch him get sworn in as the nation’s 44th President and lets keep not only Mr. Obama in our thoughts and prayers but lets pray for our country.  We have a tough road ahead of us and we need to all pull together if we are going to get through what lies ahead.

God Bless America.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “A New (and Historic) Day Dawns in the U.S.”

  1. the tall tv guy Says:

    I am also moderately conservative and am not really excited, but trying to keep an open mind about our next President and how he will lead. Choosing Rick Warren to lead the invocation at the inauguration was a positive move. It will be interesting to watch how long the honeymoon period will be between the President and Congressional leaders before they are fighting over control or power. The liberal press has constantly mentioned President Bush’s low approval ratings, the ratings for Congress have been even lower.

    Last summer, I was telling friends and relatives the next President will have a very difficult job. This was before the financial institutions and automakers asked for help in October.

    Our son heard Vegas oddsmakers are taking bets on how long Mr. Obama will live after being sworn in. While it’s pitiful people would bet on this issue, it’s disturbing this is being offered.

    Over the last two years, I’ve worked some contract assignments with extended periods of unemployment in between. I’m thankful to have a regular (not writing permanent!) job now, I’m working longer hours for less pay. A sign of the times.

  2. Doug Johnson Says:

    A new day dawns over America.

  3. Carol McClain Says:

    I am so proud of our country that we as a nation can gather together and vote for new and hopefully honest representation in the White House, it’s also a proud day because now childrend no matter what race, religion, creed or economic background can say “when I grow up I want to be president”and it can have a basis in reality .
    I believe Abraham and Martin and John , would be mighty proud of how far we’ve come and how far we’ll go .

  4. Pam Crittendon Roberson Says:

    My 70-plus year old mother, and her two sisters (both in their 60s) decided to make the trip to D.C. to witness the inauguration first hand. I got goosebumps watching it on TV, so I can imagine the thrill of actually being there to witness history. It’s a monumentally significant day for America, and I’m overwhelmed with pride and hope.

  5. Joy Sutherland Says:

    Today was one of the proudest days of my life. I only wish my father was alive to see it, as he was a strong advocate for civil rights in the ’60s, working with the Urban Leage and the Fellowship of Reconciliation in Memphis. I was thrilled to support Obama in his campaign and only wish it was me in DC for the inauguration and not my husband!! I was also very disappointed in the Shelby County Schools, which apparently did not ensure that all students could watch the ceremony. I called my daughters’ high school this morning and was told it was up to each teacher. They told me if I checked out my girls to watch it at home, it would be an unexcused absence–which would not only tarnish my high school senior’s record but prohibit her from even making up any lost assignments. Regardless of political affiliation, today was living history and students probably would have learned more from watching it than reading about it in a textbook.

  6. Joy Sutherland Says:

    Excuse the typo–I do know how to spell “league”!


Leave a Reply

