Odds and Ends on a Monday Night

When it comes to monitoring bad weather that is ACTUALLY occurring in the Midtown Memphis area, there’s one station I turn to: It’s WMC.  Don’t get me wrong.  When it comes to covering the weather, most folks in the Memphis area are pretty much on the same footing IMHO. I mainly watch weather in general for the radar.  The pontifications of most of the prognosticators is lost on me.  I can find the forecast on-line and usually do.  It’s only when I find weather threatening my humble abode of stately Larksmith Manor that I tune in to local TV.  Why do I tune in to WMC? It’s like real estate: location, location, location.  I live closer to WMC than I do the other stations.  When Dave Brown and Company flash images from “High 5” at the station on Union, that gives me a pretty good idea of what is bearing down on me.  I will admit that it is a little disconcerting when I hear tornado warning sirens wailing in Midtown and when I turn to see /Dave and Tim VH on the air and you can hearing that same wailing sound over Dave’s mic, well maybe it’s time to head for cover.  After the storm passed the Midtown area, I started surfing to see what else was going on.  I know this may sound weird but I turned to WPTY/WLMT and my first thought was “Where is Brian.”  (sorry Mark).. I still find it hard to believe that it’s been almost one year since B-T’s passing.  I stopped at WHBQ because their radar looked like it had a whole lot more stuff on it.  Maybe they had it set to be more sensitive, I don’t know.  AS I was trying to figure out what was going on, I heard a rather breathless report from Earl Ferrell who had sought shelter under an awning at a bank in Millington.   I listened to that until Earl was wrapped up and then turned off the TV.

I was taking care of some honey-do errands at the Home Depot in Midtown Saturday and was trying to remember exactly what Bethany wanted me to pick up when I heard my name called from right in front me.  I looked up and lo and behold there was Kym Clark of WMC pushing a shopping cart.  I was trying to remember the last time I spoke to KC face to face and it had been a while.  I know it was long before KC got married and here she was pushing this cart with her daughter in it.  We chatted for a couple of minutes.  It seems that she and her daughter were trying to catch up with KC’s husband who was somewhere else in the store.  It was good seeing KC and I will tell you that her daughter is a real cutie.  I later met KC’s husband as they were preparing to check out.  This by the way is the same Home Depot where I ran into Ethel Sengstacke the PREVIOUS Saturday.

After I left the HD, I stopped by the Mapco at Poplar and Belvedere to fuel up and was in the process of taking care of that when I saw a guy who was walking down the street strolling toward me.  I was just hanging back up the gas hose when this person called my name.  It was my former co-worker at WREG and now currently a  reporter for WHBQ, Les Smith.  For those who don’t know it, LS walks EVERYWHERE around Midtown.  We chatted for about five or ten minutes or so and I was having a great time when I realized that my wife was waiting for my return to home. As I was driving off and Les was continuing on his rounds I was reminded of a time about 10-years ago that I was driving through the drive-through lane of a fast food eatery in Midtown.  The woman taking my order did a double take as I handed her my money and then asked me “Ain’t you Les Smith on Action News 3. ” I told her that “no, I was not Les Smith ” but that a lot of people confused the two of us because we look so much a like.   I then drove on.  That just goes to show that ALL those folks on TV look alike….even those who don’t.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Odds and Ends on a Monday Night”

  1. Doug Johnson Says:

    I usually only run into people from NC3 because I live around the corner from the station. On the TV news reunion front, former anchor Pam Crittendon told me she ran into Stephanie Scurlock & Greg Tate yesterday.

    Let me know the next time you’re heading over the Home Depot and I’ll make plans to bump into you there… Better yet, let me know when you’re going to be at the store and I’ll stop by the house and visit with your lovely bride.

    Speaking of weather coverage, I was watching a little NC3 on Friday around 5:30 as the storm blew through, thinking I was missing the CBS Evening News. While I wouldn’t suggest interrupting storm coverage on the main channel, wouldn’t it be possible to show network programming on News Channel 3 Anytime? After all, wasn’t one of the reasons behind switching to digital to give broadcasters enough bandwidth to show several programs at once? Just sayin’.

  2. Blake Johnson Says:

    Bill Lund is back in Minnesota as the main 5,6,10pm anchor of Channel 5 KSTP (ABC). His first cast was this week. He is paired with a excellent anchor in Leah McLean and the two are working well together. The newsroom is geared for breaking news and is not afraid to get out into the DMA. Like WMC, they have a longtime weather staff. With layoffs at the CBS affiliate and NBC’s programming in the crapper, this might have been a great move for the Lund family.

    bio link http://kstp.com/article/stories/s964484.shtml?cat=28

    • Blake Johnson Says:

      In addition to Lund at KSTP, Tom Butler is at KMSP (FOX) and Esme Murphy (longtime Memphis TV junkies will remember her from WHBQ)is at WCCO where she anchors weekend AM by herself and hosts a radio program on the midwest blowtorch WCCO AM 830 (which can be heard in Memphis under the right conditions).

  3. The GM Says:

    I believe it is Bill Lunn not Lund.

  4. ready camera one, take two Says:

    Lunn, Lund…whatever. Ask Les Smith of Action News 3, he’s the one that writes this blog.


Leave a Reply

