Excuse Mr. Larkins, Would You Like Some Cheese with your Whine?

For years I’ve heard the expression that “the squeaky wheel gets the grease”.  It paid off this week although one friend told me that I basically sounded like his cranky old grandfather. The issue was the pile of yard waste (bags of grass from the lawn and other debris that had been sitting in front of my house since early August and it was getting larger each week.  I had written about it in my previous blog post.

I received an email from WMCTV5 reporter Jamel Major Wednesday morning indicating that they were working on a story about the slow pick-up of yard waste and that he wanted to talk to me.  As I responded to the email, I heard a knock on the door and “lo and behold” there was Mr. Major and videographer Erik Honeycutt.  And while I was chatting with them in my front yard, trucks and crews from the City of Memphis showed up and started loading the debris. Apparently they had called the city to tell them they were doing a story on the slow pick-up of yard waste and that they would be at my house.    I told them they were “on my side” better than Andy Wise.  They both just laughed.  I will admit that during the on-camera interview, I felt kind of awkward and wasn’t sure how goofy I was going to come off looking.  It wasn’t too bad and I even received a phone call right after the story aired from a woman I first met when I first showed up in town more than 20-years ago.  She called to let me know that she had just “seen me on TV” and that I got my point across to the viewers.  Thanks Rosemarie.  For that I thank Mr. Major and Mr. Honeycutt.  If you are so inclined, you can see the story AND read the transcript of the story a the WMC website.  Here’s the link.

I can also share with you that I’m already getting grief from my friends about all of this.  Tommy Stafford who lives in Virginia posted a comment on my previous post accusing me of auditoning for WMC.  LOL

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

10 Comments on “Excuse Mr. Larkins, Would You Like Some Cheese with your Whine?”

  1. ready camera one, take two Says:

    Further proof that you don’t mess with the media or whiny bloggers.

    Just tell me that you didn’t do a 3-2-1 countdown to your soundbite like Mayor Myron does.

  2. joelarkins Says:

    No, I do NOT do a countdown since I know that most of what I say will be cut anyway. I just ramble as I speak the same way that I ramble when I write.
    Thanks for checking in.
    Regards

  3. Doug Johnson Says:

    So, did that young fella from the TV know that you used to be in “the bidness?” Or do you even think he noticed the practiced tones of a seasoned journalist?

    It is nice to know that someone on Union Avenue is reading your blog. And now that your yard is cleaned up, I might come by for a visit.

  4. joelarkins Says:

    D-J, I doubt if either one of the two young gentlemen knew I used to be in the TV news trade or even really cared. They probably had on their collective minds the same thing that “Andy’s twin” (a former newsman here locally) once posted about: “Two soundbites and a hot plate lunch”.
    And now that my yard is cleaned up, be expecting to get your formal “invite” for next weekend.

  5. Jack Church Says:

    What can I say Joe…I laughed, I cried, I felt a wide range of emotions never felt before viewing local television news. Seriously, I think the sanitation department should hire you as their spokesperson. You have excellent diction and it was almost as if you had been on television before. I wish more folks that were interviewed would get their point across as well as you did. Next time I have a problem with city hall you can bet I will call you first for advice on how to handle the problem.

  6. joelarkins Says:

    Jack, You are crusin’ for a bruisin’. I don’t know exactly where you live in Sarasota, but I bet I can find you!. LOL Give my regards to Pam.

  7. Brad Says:

    I’m glad your non-violent protest worked out so well! (But you know, I swear you look just like this guy that I used to see on TV.)

  8. Pam Crittendon Roberson Says:

    Aren’t you Joe Birch?

  9. Andy's Twin Says:

    Good to see you keeping in practice for an occasional TV appearance. By the next time there’s a storm, maybe you’ll be good enough to give the “it sounded like a big ‘ole freight train” soundbite. 🙂

  10. joelarkins Says:

    Yes and don’t forget the other standby: “I expect something like this in the big city. This kind of stuff never happens here in this neighborhood.”
    Regards


Leave a Reply

